Political Promise

Get Some Perspective Britain!

In Uncategorized on January 27, 2010 at 12:35 am

As I switched on my computer this morning, opened up Internet Explorer and glanced at my BBC news home page, the first thing I saw was the headline ‘UK Economy Emerges from Recession‘. Wahoooo! Finally, a tiny, tiny lining of silver on that massive gray cloud that has hung over Britain for the past 18 months. Then, I scrolled onto the ‘Have your say section, Is the recession over for you?’,  I spent a good chunk of my morning reading the comments left from people all over Britain, and concluded that we are a nation of whiners. Now, I’m not talking about the people who have genuine problems, those who have been made redundant, can’t pay their mortgages and have lost their homes- that is something complain about. Its the other bunch of whingers that really get me angry. The ones whos lives are just too difficult because…here are a few gems…
‘We have to eat ‘Reduced to clear food’
‘I’ve had to give up my hobbies’
‘I had to change career’
and of course, the token xenophobic ‘I work hard, pay my taxes etc, but only see these being spent on a war we don’t want, immigrants we don’t actually need’.

Recued to clear food? Yes, oh my goodness- how on earth do you cope shopping for cheaper items that are still absolutely fine to eat!? Given up your hobbies? Do some free ones, walks in the countryside, start a book club in your front room, you don’t need money to have hobbies. And yes, immigrants, are of course taking all our jobs (*rolls eyes*).

FOR GODS SAKE BRITAIN! Yes its bad, we’re all feeling the effects, (as someone working for free and living off a credit card which will be swiftly maxed out by the end of the month I’m experiencing the crappy side of the recession too). However, confirmation that we really need to take a step back and examine what we have and what matters in our lives came to me very quickly as I turned to the news pages on Haiti.

How can we moan about not being able to have little things like hobbies when people have lost everything, their homes, livelihoods, jobs and most of all loved ones? Glancing through pictures of the devastation makes me thankful, and quite frankly an optimist.

I’m not saying people don’t have problems, I’m not saying life isn’t difficult for many people here in Britain, but at least many of us still have roofs over our heads and our families and friends are safe. So, the next time you think of whinging about something, maybe get some perspective! And of course donate what you can. Here.

Kim Hobson

Leave a Reply

