Political Promise

The Story of Two £10 Notes

In Uncategorized on March 24, 2011 at 8:00 am

Last week Romain Camus, a foreign currency trader for Deutsche Bank, waved a £10 note at NHS workers marching in protest against the cuts. As well as flashing the money at them he mouthed to the protester ‘Get a job!’ Thanks to exposure by the Sunday Mirror this lovely gentleman was shown the door; however he will still receive his bonus of £50,000, reports Conor Campbell.

I have been bugged about this, as I do not believe for one moment that he was the only employee laughing at his act. In fact if you view the picture you will see another of his banking chums laughing with him. So why has he been the only one to be fired? I have little faith in bankers, I always have. The basic principle of lending out other people’s money to earn your own profit seems morally corrupt. I would imagine that Romains crime was not his disgusting act, but being caught; as I am sure there are plenty other arrogant bankers thinking they actually deserve their bonuses and we are all beneath them.

Also last week I was coming home from working with a troubled teenager, and as I walked past my local Church I decided I would pop in and have a more direct word with the man upstairs. I informed him of how my work was struggling due to council cuts, and I was not best pleased with his recent doings. I warned him to get his finger out or else I shall be an awkward guest when we finally do meet. I asked him for a little help, maybe some sign of what I should do and then I said my goodbyes.

As I turned to walk out the door I spotted a £10 note on the floor. There was no-one else around, so I couldn’t question anyone about its ownership. However instead of pocketing this lucky find I placed it in the donation box and was on my way. In case you wonder why I did such a thing, the answer is simple, it was because it was not my money and I had done nothing to deserve it! So then how can these so-called educated bankers happily walk around, taking large bonuses? Do they not have guilt? Are they not aware of how much pain they have caused?

I am not going to deny how much I would appreciate a salary similar to that of the bankers; however Catholic guilt would not allow me to enjoy it. Scratch that, guilt in general and the basic principles of human society would persuade me to go something meaningful with the money.

This gesture by Romain Camus enforces my view that to most bankers succeed not because of their ability, but because they lack common decency and empathy.

  1. This is an interesting article, but your last point about bankers not doing well out of ability, but out of lack of empathy. Is it not a fair assessment to say that one of the main requirements of being a high-powered banker is to be absolutely soulless? For example, recently there’s been tips on investing in the food industry because there’s soon to be a global food shortage, this is essentially investing in people’s starvation, but it makes for successful investment banking. Just my thought, good article though.

  2. Most bankers succeed because they are smart and hard working. When you go home aroud 5pm and enjoy your time with your wife “most bankers” will be at the office, when you are having dinner with your kids around 9pm, “most bankers” will still be at the office. You didn’t deserve the £10 pounds and I agree with your story, but most bankers that you are talking about deserve they money. I just can’t understand why the whole world is taking the piss at bankers when football players make at least 10 times more by kicking a ball. Think about it!

Leave a Reply

